Selected for college media staff? Cherish the moment

Joy in 140 characters. It’s a new rite of spring. Students take to Twitter to celebrate announcements of editors-in-chief, managing editors and other positions in college media newsrooms.

It takes me back to a time long before Twitter. But this won’t be a long nostalgic post. Indulge me one memory, and I’ll offer a brief bit of advice for the newly minted leaders.

How many 10-second elevator rides are memorable? Yet I clearly remember how I felt in the elevator in the Ferguson Center at the University of Alabama, heading up to the office of The Crimson White, on a spring day in 1977.  The editor-in-chief had posted the list of section editors for the coming year. I had applied for academics editor, and I was beyond nervous.

It’s odd that I don’t remember seeing the actual list and learning I’d gotten the job. I think I remember my anxiety in the elevator because of how much I wanted that job. I wanted to be an important part of something important. I thought it would be the start of something wonderful.

Here’s what I want to say to those selected this spring. That newsroom turned out to be everything I hoped, and more. If there’s a better place than a newsroom, I never found it. Yes, journalism is a challenging business these days. But for at least the next semester or two, you’re going to work in a real live newsroom with real live journalists — quite possibly people you will know for the rest of your lives — to do something important.

If you’re incredibly excited, good. Freak out with joy.  Work hard. Be the best in the world. Pick something important and do it better. Cherish every moment.

Congratulations!

About adviserdavid

Student media director, Georgia Southern University

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Leadership. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

